Showing 436 results

Archival description
Text With digital objects
Print preview View:

Sandton Historical Association Annual Magazine #7, 1983

Sandton Historical Association Annual Magazine #7, 1983
Contents:
1) NEWSLETTER
2) MEMBERSHIP FORM
3) QUARTET
4) INTRODUCTION by the Editor to a series of four articles concerning the farm DRIEFONTEIN which is of special importance
today as the historical WEBER HOUSE still stands on this farm.
5) FROM 1859 : LANDOWNERS OF DRIEFONTEIN by E. J. Carruthers. The story of the land and its various owners over the 120 years since the first farms were proclaimed in the Transvaal.
6) THE LOST HOUSES OF DRIEFONTEIN by Professor R. J. Mason. Report on an investigation of the site of the 1890 - 1926 Wilhelmi Farm, which remains only as a ruin, carried out by the Archaeological Research Unit of the University of the Witwatersrand.
7) WHY THE WEBER HOUSE IS WORTHY OF PRESERVATION by Juliet Marais Louw. Mrs. Marais Louw, who spent much of her childhood in what is now Sandton, makes a plea for the old WEBER HOUSE to be saved for posterity.
8) 1908 - THE WRIGHT FAMILY ARRIVE AT DRIEFONTEIN by Juliet Marais Louw. A portrait of some of the people who have lived at
Driefontein.
9) PASSING OF A PIONEER. Poetic Tribute to Mrs. E. Wilhelmi

Sandton Historical Association

College Chronicle volume 2 number 2

The articles reflect the day to day life of the College at the time.
The cover and articles contained in the issue honour the first headmaster of the College, Wally Mears, on his retirement.
Tributes to founder teacher, E M (Monty) Harris, who passed away in July 1961, appear on pages 22-25 of this issue.

Boys' College

Results 301 to 400 of 436